Where have you been?

 

Hmmm… suspicious. For over a year I was rolling along, writing every two to three weeks and then – nothing. Silence.

No, I didn’t travel around the world or get wrapped up in writing an earth-shattering work of literary genius. I got pregnant.

After months of pestering from my toddler, I started to think about actually making her dreams come true and having another baby. Babies started to look cute again, instead of commonplace and inconvenient.  The husband and I decided it was as good a time as any to have a second kid. We’re pretty lucky in the fertility department, so this didn’t take any time at all. Problem is, I’m terrible at actually being pregnant (and getting the kid out for that matter, but that’s a story for another day).

At first it was fine. I didn’t even realize I was pregnant for the first six weeks so I sailed through the holiday merriment without a care in the world. But I was napping rather frequently. And I was REALLY hungry. Like, save-some-roast-for-the-rest-of-us hungry. Sure enough, there was a reason for that. He’s kicking me right now.

From months two until six (present), I pretty much took up residence on the couch. I vomited a lot, slept a lot, thought about all the things I should be doing but physically was unable to do. My daughter reported daily to her preschool staff that “mommy is still terribly sick” (seriously, those were her words. It was like living with a sad orphan from a Dickens novel). I had to stop working and volunteering. My husband worked from home to ensure my continued survival.  Overall, it was an immensely unproductive time. Not to be repeated!

It’s not so surprising then that blogging fell to the bottom of my to-do list, nestling neatly between “clean screen doors” and “refill emergency kits.”

On the positive side, I’m starting to feel like a person again just in time to be enormously huge for summer! HOORAY! This is actually good news because my tolerance for heat has been substantially reduced leaving me with three months left to write in the comfort of my air conditioned home. Ahhhhh…

Vitamin D is overrated anyway.

I will attempt to keep the blog up (and other writing projects as well) until my little bundle shows up in early September and destroys my brain function until approximately January or February (rough estimate). I look forward to this brief renaissance of productivity and connectivity.

Until next time, this is Large & In Charge, signing out…

One thought on “Where have you been?

Leave a Reply

